Rift: The Complete Rift Saga, Books 1-3 by Andreas Christensen

Posted February 23, 2017 by Elena in Reviews / 0 Comments

Rift: The Complete Rift Saga, Books 1-3 by Andreas ChristensenRift by Andreas Christensen
Narrator: Michael Goldstrom
Published by Podium Publishing on 10 January 2017
Length: 14 hrs and 32 mins
Genres: Dystopian, Science Fiction
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Rating Report
Story (Plot)
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Production Quality
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Attention Holding
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

From the ruins of what used to be North America, a new nation was forged by survivors of the Fall. They called this new nation the Covenant, and two centuries later it is stronger than ever. The Moon people, descendants of lunar colonists who returned to Earth to rebuild it, rule with an iron fist to ensure their dominance over the original inhabitants, the English. For the Covenant is a nation where a chosen few prosper at the cost of everyone else, and while the English are forced to serve their masters their entire lives, the Moon people have mastered the greatest secret, the secret of life itself.

In the Rift Saga, we follow Sue and Dave, two English teens sent off to serve; Evan, a soldier and a member of one of the most prominent families of the Moon people; and Mark, the oldest man on Earth as they find themselves in the midst of events, uncovering conspiracies that have kept the Moon people in power ever since they left their dusty refuge behind.

Sooner or later, in different ways, they will all find that lies and deception can work for only so long, and sooner or later the truth will be unveiled. What will happen once the veil of lies unravels?

The Rift Saga takes place more than two centuries after the events of Exodus in a dystopian society forged from the ashes of global disaster.

The Complete Rift Saga consists of Rift (book 1), Covenant (book 2), and Legacy (book 3).

©2014 Andreas Christensen (P)2016 Podium Publishing

Buy from Audible Buy from Amazon.comAdd to Goodreads

The story starts 200 years after an event known as the Fall. Two nations foresaw the danger and migrated to the Moon. Years later, the next generation decided to come back to Earth and protect it from any other environmental disaster, using the few ‘English’ left to build their empire, creating new history and deleting the old one from the books and the memories of the survivors. The saying that ‘History is written by the victors’ cannot be more true than here. When reaching the age of eighteen, the English are ‘enlisted’ in one of the several jobs where they should serve for the next seven years and maybe gain the status of citizen. Many of them, the less lucky ones, will go to the Corpus, where they will be enslaved and most probably will not survive the seven years. Sue and Dave are two of this enlisted people, but to two different services. Each one on their part of the Covenant will discover that the Moon people have told them lies, but they will need to find the depth of them, and if it is even possible to discover the truth and act upon it.

The first thing that caught my eye was the word ‘Rift’ in the title of the book. I have a soft spot for the mentioned word in a science-fiction context. And I love dystopian novels, it is something I cannot resist. They usually present a society which, in principle, does not make a lot of sense, and we need to discover, along with the main characters, the truth behind it all. It is like solving a mystery in a way, in which the pieces finally fall into place. And The Rift Saga is one of these stories. It caught my attention from the start, with well-developed characters with real motivations in an upside down world. We slowly discover parts of the truth, but at the end of book one, there is a twist that gives a lot more depth to it, allowing for more development in books two and three, and opens the possibility to other books.

Something that I would have liked when listening to the story would be maps. I ignore if they are included in the eBook or paper editions, but I think it would have been a nice addition. I would just include one of the Covenant for the first book and a broader one for books two and three.

Michael Goldstrom did a superb job with the narration of this book, not only transmitting emotions but also giving distinctive voices and accents to the characters, and they were quite some. I liked that René’s accent was very very subtle, contrary to the other French’s. I really enjoyed the narration and the characters portraits by Goldstrom, and I think it was an added value to the book.

There is another series related to this one, ‘Exodus’, which I would love to listen too. I think Christensen has created a very interesting world, and his books are a must listen for any dystopian fan.

About Andreas Christensen

Andreas Christensen is a Norwegian science fiction and fantasy writer. His most recent work is Legacy, the third and final installment of the Rift Saga.

His popular series the Exodus Trilogy received rave reviews in both the U.S. and the U.K. and has been compared to classics such as Heinlein and Asimov. The Rift Saga is set approximately two centuries after the events of Exodus, and a reviewer described it as “Hunger Games on steroids”. In a good way…

He is currently working on new projects, including a “second generation” story set in the Aurora universe, and a brand new series…

Andreas Christensen has a degree in Psychology from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology, and his professional background is mainly from public service. He has a weakness for cats, coffee and up until recently, books so heavy he’d need a separate suitcase in order to carry them every time he traveled. Luckily, the world has changed, and the suitcase has now been replaced by an e-reader.

About Elena

Since I was a little child I loved science fiction and fantasy, and I can't resist to a good novel. In 2015 I started to listen to audiobooks and I discovered the pleasure in being able to read while doing my daily tasks, so there's always an audiobook playing on my phone.

I live with my boyfriend, four lovebirds and two Gouldian finches in Madrid, Spain; and I like to spend my free time knitting and sewing while listening to audiobooks.

My Website
View All Reviews

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply